Happiness indeed!

Winter hands! Oh so dry…I just bought a new hand cream because my other lotions are not cutting it lately! This one is seriously thick, feels great and smells so good! Made by our local soaperie, The Fanciful Fox, I feel good all around – supporting local business AND putting healthy, known ingredients on my skin. The scent is aptly called…”Happiness!”

Yes!

I am happy to support local! For me, I have made it important to support our downtown businesses because I want them to survive – they add life to our little city and, being a small business owner myself, I know what a challenge it can be and also how much better it feels to be in charge of our own destiny. Kudos to being brave & bold on that account!

The more I learn about the state of our financial system, budget deficits & fiscal cliffs, the more I think our very success is going to depend on connecting our local economies, getting back to bartering on some level and supporting each other on a personal level. This became clear to me with our food system this year, but I believe it applies to all local living.

Buying local means you get to know the people who make things – you get to know what they use, what they put in the things they make & why.

I am happy to know all these ingredients in this product are recognizable, free of harmful chemicals and are even organic & fair-trade! Made with Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, Argan Oil, Essential Oils, Vitamin E & Love…gotta love that!

In the past few years, in my quest to find out what had been causing problems with my skin, I learned just how much crap we absorb into our bodies. Being raised in our modern society, surrounded by ads and commercials for countless products, we think nothing of the chemicals in our shampoos, perfumes, lotions, eye shadows, toothpastes…the list goes on. In fact, make up companies don’t even tell you the ingredients (how bad must they be)!

We have forgotten that our skin is an organ – our largest? – and that it absorbs whatever we put on it into our body. Our body then needs to deal with all this stuff and when it is man-made, chemically processed crap, we make it very difficult for our body & nervous system to process. This can lead to all sorts of problems. In fact, all of these products are one of our leading causes of stress in the body…not emotional stress, but bio-chemical stress, which can lead to hormonal imbalances & sickness. I have gradually replaced these item from my routine. Not all at once, but a little at a time – you can do it too! Better for you, better for the economy & better for your local soap maker! 🙂

These are just some of the reasons why I’m so happy as I open my little jar of “Happiness” today!

Fanciful Fox can be found online at Fanciful Fox and in real life in downtown Scranton, PA 18503.

20130111-090948.jpg

Leave a Reply

