Day 1 Toward More Flexibility

For my birthday last November, my husband gave me a $100 gift certificate to NEPA Fit Club. Some women may be offended by that, but not me – I was excited! After seeing the results Joe has had working with his personal trainer, Mike Marcinek, I knew it would be the perfect thing for me after the baby was born & I started getting back into my physical activities.

NEPA Fit Club is not your ordinary gym…it’s more like a playground for adults. No stationary bikes or weight machines here, it’s all about using your whole body. And learning how to do it correctly, efficiently & with maximum benefit.

In order to do this, Mike will work with you individually in order to assess where you’re at & help you get where you want to be. They also hold classes for kids & boot camps, etc. so there are many options depending on what you’re looking for.

Today was my assessment, after Joe’s workout. It took about 15 mins. Mike had me complete several physical tests while he took different measurements. This helps him see what functional movements I can do well & where I’m imbalanced. One of the areas I need a lot of work on is my shoulder mobility…it’s not so good & I notice it a lot in yoga. If you’re familiar with the stretch where you try to touch your hands together behind your back – one arm from the top & the other from below…my hands are nowhere near each other. So…we’ll work on that.

My goals are to increase my strength & flexibility in my shoulders & upper body, as well as flexibility in my hips. I’d like to see this helping me work toward some of the more advanced asanas, or poses, in yoga. Plus it will be great to add to my martial arts training when I go back. I’m definitely excited for the professional help!

It’s funny, I’ve never really felt the need to make fitness goals before as I’ve been active most of my life. Discovering yoga last year, however, caused me to see the imbalances in my body & abilities. Someday I’d like to complete the yoga teacher training- for now, I’m just looking forward to being able to do binds & some inversions through what I learn from Mike. I’ll keep you posted!

Do you have any fitness goals this year? What are you doing to help yourself become stronger, better, healthier? I’d love to hear what you’re working toward. If we don’t set goals…we can’t hit them. Remember, small steps get us there!

If you’re interested in checking them out, click here or call 570.840.2586.

20130131-163806.jpg

20130131-163816.jpg

Leave a Reply

