Squash Overflow

I’m a novice gardener (“let’s plant it and see what happens…even if the envelope says to plant it two months ago”) and and exploring cook. I stick mostly with vegetables, sides and baked things. Joe handles most protein.

As I learn more and more about food, and healthy choices for my family, I have two go-to cookbooks: any Moosewood cookbook and Nourishing Traditions.

Today (and for the next few weeks) I had to figure out what to do with the abundance of squash that took over half my garden. Here is today’s solution:

3 butternut squash baked cut side down in 1/2 inch of water, at 350 degrees for about an hour.

Then scoop out the squash and blend until smooth. Add three eggs, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, sea salt & pepper and transfer to an oven-proof dish. Melt 2 tbsp. butter over the purée and sprinkle on crispy pecans (another recipe…I’m simply going to roast them) and bake at 350 degrees for about 30 mins.

Yay! Three squash down and…ten plus to go!

My husband, Joe says to me this morning, “I don’t really care for squash that much.”

Tough, honey, have you seen our garden!?!

20130813-115003.jpg

20130813-115016.jpg

Leave a Reply

