Enjoying the Past in my Future

Connected with, and independent, of my post from Monday, I find myself drawn more and more to the traditions of the past. And it’s not just me. Is this what 30-year-olds do? Is this particular to my generation looking for deeper meaning than we’ve been accustomed to on TV?

Knitting, canning, growing our own food, homesteading…is this a trend or a movement? Toward something. Meaning? Connection? Meditation? All of these?

When I think of the quote from Aldous Huxley I wrote about last post, I feel like my desire to return to these things make sense. They allow us to reconnect with something bigger than our selves or our stuff. Often, it’s a connection with nature, such as gardening, essential oils, cooking, and knitting (especially those spinning their own wool)! Sometimes a connection with each other; when we can food or meet at farmer’s markets or quilt.

I don’t know what my interest in these activities will turn into. Right now, they are occasional hobbies for me, spurred on especially by the coming of fall – where something about the cooler weather and the turning of seasons calls me to slow down and pick up my knitting, and get back to my kitchen to make and preserve and enjoy. All I know is that right now I am all about savoring. Tastes, sights, sounds, and moments together with friends and family.

What about you? What is on your mind with the subtle shifts in seasons? Are there traditions that you take part in, or that you’d like to?

Leave a Reply

