Meditative Monday

Our family just returned home from Parker Seminars, New York City, a three-day, high energy, chiropractic seminar. It was, as usual, inspiring, energizing and fun! Ronan enjoyed it too, I’m pretty sure everyone knew him by name before we left…his smile and newly learned waving make a pretty good impression. šŸ™‚

Today, in our office, we will be reflecting on the major “Ah Ha!” moments and action steps we will implement in the next few weeks, so I’ve been going over some things from the weekend, and have not been able to stop thinking about this quote:

“Change a flat tire with the same enthusiasm with which you open a gift.”

I think I’m stuck on it because of all the things I learned this weekend, this was a major reminder of something I’m not doing. With so many changes in my life in the past year, I think I’ve allowed myself to entertain too much stress, and worry and too short a fuse. I’ve been quick to annoy, quick to anger, quick to jump to “I can’t possibly do that! It’s too much, AHhhhh!”

Which, in some cases, may be true, but it’s my reaction I am not happy with. I can say “no” without panicking or yelling. I have all the skills to react to things…anything…with grace and calm and enthusiasm. There will always be things that come up, things that don’t go the way we think they should, things that knock us down, but life it too short to focus on those all the time. I am learning more and more about how devastating stress is on the body, mind and spirit – I don’t want to entertain it any more. Stress is supposed to be a brief moment and then we let it go. Fight or flight, and then back to munching the grass(in my wilderness example)…or knitting, enjoying life, loving those around us.

So, thank you, to my chiropractic friends and inspirations for this reminder. Life it better lived with a smile and enthusiasm.

So, breathe, let go, and open the gifts.

Leave a Reply

