Just the Thing.

Today started a little bit off. I was tired, and so was Ronan, which made for a cranky morning. I knew I could turn it around, and that the worst thing I could do is to focus on any negativity. Negative thoughts beget more negative thoughts…and things.

So to stop this negative train, and salvage a happier day, I took just a little extra time in the shower. I realize the environment may have suffered slightly, but I was ever so grateful for the hot water and steam, and the quiet moments all to myself. I took this opportunity to think about the Dalai Lama’s mantra, “Every day, think as you wake up, today I am fortunate to have woken up. I am alive, I have a precious human life, I am not going to waste it.”

This always helps put things in perspective. It was just the thing.

I then turned to my kitchen. I pulled fresh carrots & celery from my fridge and onions & garlic from my counter and followed Moosewood’s recipe for Tomato Bulgar Soup (Moosewood Restaurant Lowfat Favorites Cookbook, p. 101). Super easy to do with a baby at my feet. So easy, I felt I could also make the easy, rustic bread from Mel’s Kitchen blog. So I did. And it was just the thing.

After some playing and some cleaning, I was still feeling pretty tired, so when Ronan took a nap, I did too. I usually use his nap times as opportunities to work on something, accomplish goals, check email, etc., but today…a nap was just the thing.

Waking with a slight headache, I immediately turned to my Young Living oils – Thieves on my tongue held to the roof of my mouth, and Peppermint at the base of my skull, forehead, and anywhere I felt the headache. I felt relief right away, it was just the thing!

Especially since friends came to visit for a late lunch, bringing their gorgeous little one over for some baby playtime. With tea water on, they arrived and we immediately enjoyed the fruits of my morning – delicious soup and bread fresh out of the oven. As we sat and caught up on things like house plans, baby developments, gardening & farming (these friends are organic farmers & CSA providers!) and our future plans for yogurt & cheese-making (we hope!), I realized today ended up a perfect day.

It was just the thing.

One thought on “Just the Thing.

  1. We’re socked in with snow.  I had tremendous cabin fever, so cleaned out the bathroom drawers.  We’re on the same wave length!

    Looking for good bread recipes!

    LOL

    Cecily

Leave a Reply

